UNDISPUTED…Chairman-General Rules The Airwaves For A Record 4th Time

Call him the Overlord of Morning Show Presenters in Ghana and also the BEST MODERATOR of talk-shows in the country currently, and you would not be far from right.

Kwami Sefa Kayi or better yet “Chairman General”, as he is wont to be called, was master of all he surveyed when he was adjudged the Radio & Television Personality (2014) for the umpteenth time.

In fact, this is the fourth consecutive time he has won the coveted ultimate award since the RTP event was instituted.

As if this was not a clear statement of his mastery (honed through his days at the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation and Radio Gold) over the airwaves enough, he was adjudged the Morning Show Host in the year under review and his programme, Kokrokoo, declared the 2014 Radio Programme of the year.

He has thus cemented his name in the history of the RTP awards and will certainly be inducted in its Hall of Fame next year.

The RTP Awards is aimed at recognizing the work of Radio and TV personalities over a period and reward personalities for their
immense contribution towards the development of the industry in Ghana, and have also endeared themselves to listeners and viewers.

This year’s event, organised by Big Events, was held at the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC), and was largely attended by persons from the media industry.

Eventhough the 2014 RTP Awards saw a marked improvement from its previous editions, truth be told that the organisers still have a long way to go.

Last year, the RTP Awards faced so many challenges with production which eventually impacted negatively on the event.

It culminated in Big Events issuing a statement after the awards nite saying it will ensure that its numerous stakeholders, including the award winners, sponsors, invited guests, performing artistes all over the country will be more than satisfied with the organisation of future events.

Well, i do not know if they (award winners, sponsors, invited guests) were pleased with what transpired at the AICC on Saturday.

Last year, the event started a whole five (5) hours late but this year, thankfully, the late start of the show was curtailed to…2 hours 45minutes (thumbs up to the organisers?).

In 2013, Mercy Johnson and Kafui Dey were supposed to MC the show but they did not turn up (whatever tenable excuse offered; bottomline is, they were not present).

Amakye Dede and Tuutulapato were billed to perform and they also failed to show up.

But this year, there was enough entertainment for patrons.

Artistes like Obrafour, Bisa K’dei, DSP Kofi Sarpong, Akoo Nana, Galaxy, Bradez, Joyce Blessing and good old Samuel Owusu, were present, and thrilled patrons at the event through good music with their spectacular performances.

But the show really dragged and it did not come as a surprise when most of the invited guests and recipients left the venue way before the curtains came down at about 3am.

Stage setting for this year’s event appeared far better than the 2011, 2012 and 2013 editions (i stand to be corrected though).

Another area of concern was the technical hitches. There were far too many for an event that is in its fourth year. Wrong cues gave the MCs (David Dontoh, Stacy Amoateng and Gideon Aryeequaye) one hell of a time.

But perhaps, for me, the highlight of this year’s event (aside Chairman-General grabbing the ultimate award for the fourth time), was the induction of distinguished radio and television personalities of excellence in Ghana into the “RTP Hall of Fame”.

The late Komla Afeke Dumor, the “Boss Player” was posthumously inducted into the Hall of Fame. The other inductees were Kwaku Sintim-Misa (KSM) and Grace Omaboe of “By the Fireside Fame”. For that, i say kudos to Mckay and his team.

There were other notable winners on the night though.

Jessica Opare-Saforo of CitiFM, won the Best Female Radio Presenter award for the second consecutive year. Nana Yaw Kesseh of Peace FM was adjudged Radio Newscaster Of The Year (Local) for the second consecutive time. Gifty Anti picked home the Female Presenter of the year and whiles another Peace FM staff, the versatile Adwoa Yeboah Agyei was adjudged the TV Female News caster of the Year.

Below Are A Full List of Winners

RTP Television News Programme of the Year 2014 – UTV News

Best Female Radio Personality Of The Year: Jessica Opare Saforo (Citi FM)

Radio Newscaster Of The Year Local: Nana Yaw Kesseh (Peace FM)

Radio Sports Show Host Of The Year: Bright Kankam Boadu (Angel FM)

Radio News Programme Of The Year : Adom Kasiebo Is Tasty

TV Male Entertainment Show Host Of The Year: Kwadwo Frimpong (Viasat 1)

TV Female Entertainment Show Host Of The Year: Anita Erskine (Viasat 1)

Radio DJ Of The Year: DJ Awana (Hitz FM)

Radio Programme Of The Year: Kokrokoo (Peace FM)

Radio Male Newscaster Of The Year (English): Richard Dela Sky (Citi FM)

TV Male Newscaster Of The Year: Bobie Osei (Viasat1)

Radio Reggae Show Of The Year: Bonti Tawala (Light FM)

Female Presenter Of The Year: Gifty Anti

Radio Show Of The Year: Kokrokoo

TV Female News Caster Of The Year: Adwoa Yeboa Agyei (UTV)

TV Morning Show Host Of The Year: Nana Aba Anamoah (TV3)

Best Sports Show Of The Year: Metro FM Sports

RTP Personality Of The Year: Kwame Sefa Kayi

Radio Late Afternoon Show Host Of The Year: Quofi Okyeame

Radio Entertainment Show Host Of The Year: Agyemang Prempeh (Rainbow Radio)

Radio Personality (Greater Accra Region): Captain Smart

Radio Personality Of The Year ‪ (Eastern Region): Londona

Radio Personality Of The Year (Ashanti Region): Frankie Taylor

Mid Morning Show Host Of The Year: Maame Akua Austin (Asempa FM )

Local TV Series Of The Year: Living With Trisha (Viasat 1)

Radio Gospel Show Host Of The Year: Kwamena Idun (Adom FM)

TV Current Affairs Show Host Of The Year: Nana Ansah Kwao

Source: Nana Kwadwo Asante/Peacefmonline.com/Ghana

Leave a Comment